History

Facade.png
Cave domaine Berthaut.png
Cuverie domaine Berthaut.png

Domaine Berthaut has been a family winery for at least 7 generations.

The story begins at the end of the 18th century with François Berthaut's father and a few hectares of vines in Fixin, at 9 Rue Noisot. Then will come Firmin Berthaut (1845-1920), and Bernard Berthaut (1879-1913), who died early. His wife Jeanne will run the estate until the majority of their son Guy.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Guy took over the estate in 1930. The wines were then mostly sold to the wholesale trade. In the aftermath of the war, Guy Berthaut began to market his wines in bottles, enlarging the property with the purchase of the house at 18 rue Noisot and the rental of new sharecropping plots in the town of Gevrey-Chambertin: Gevrey-Chambertin appellation village and Gevrey-Chambertin Premier Cru.

In the 1960s, he developed the export market to the United States.

Vincent and Denis took over from their father Guy Berthaut (1912-2009) in 1974. During their careers, Vincent and Denis (trained oenologists) extended the estate by purchasing vines in the Fixin village and Fixin Premier Cru appellation.

2005 saw the construction of a new cellar, Route des Grands Crus, for the aging of wines.

Amélie, daughter of Denis Berthaut, born of marriage with Marie-Andrée Gerbet (Domaine François Gerbet in Vosne-Romanée), moved to the family farm in 2013 after studying agronomist-oenologist engineer in Bordeaux. The Berthaut-Gerbet estate was born, bringing together all the vines of the Berthaut estate and some of the vines of the Gerbet estate.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In 2017, Nicolas Faure, Amélie's husband, joined the estate as head of culture, after having learned his skills at JL Chave, Domaine de la Romanée Conti, Domaine Prieuréé-Roch. At the same time, he created his own domain in 2011.


The estate now covers 18 hectares, mainly in Fixin, but also Gevrey Chambertin, Vosne Romanée and Flagey Echezeaux. The production only of wines of Controlled Designation of Origin is 90% red.

 

The vines are cultivated with respect for the environment, with an organic tendency. The wines are vinified and aged in a non-interventionist way.

"Bien faire vaut mieux que dire " 1693 - Inscription sur le linteau de la porte au 9 Rue Noisot

Tonneaux domaine Berthaut.png
IMG_1976.JPG

Histoire

Facade.png
Cuverie domaine Berthaut.png

 Le Domaine Berthaut est une exploitation viticole familiale depuis au moins 7 générations.

 

  L’histoire commence à la fin du XVIIIème siècle avec le père de François Berthaut et quelques hectares de vignes à Fixin, au 9 Rue Noisot. Puis viendra Firmin Berthaut (1845-1920), et Bernard Berthaut (1879-1913), décédé précocement. Sa femme Jeanne assurera la direction du domaine  jusqu’à la majorité de leur fils Guy.

   Guy reprend le domaine en 1930. Les vins sont alors vendus en majeure partie au commerce de gros. Au lendemain de la guerre, Guy Berthaut commence à commercialiser ses vins en bouteilles, agrandit la propriété avec l’achat de la maison au 18 rue Noisot et la location de nouvelles parcelles en métayage sur la commune de Gevrey-Chambertin : appellation Gevrey-Chambertin village et Gevrey-Chambertin Premier Cru.

Dans les années 1960, il développe le marché export vers les Etats-Unis.   

 

   Vincent et Denis prennent la suite de leur père Guy Berthaut (1912-2009) en 1974. Durant leur carrière, Vincent et Denis (œnologue de formation)  agrandissent le domaine en achetant des vignes en appellation Fixin village et Fixin Premier Cru.

2005 voit la construction d’une nouvelle cave, route des Grands Crus, pour l’élevage des vins.

   

   Amélie, fille de Denis Berthaut, née du mariage avec Marie-Andrée Gerbet (Domaine François Gerbet à Vosne-Romanée), s’installe sur l’exploitation familiale en 2013 après des études d’ingénieur agronome-œnologue à Bordeaux. Le domaine Berthaut-Gerbet est né, regroupant ainsi la totalité des vignes du domaine Berthaut et une partie des vignes du domaine Gerbet.

En 2017, Nicolas Faure, le mari d'Amélie, rejoint le domaine en qualité de chef de culture, après avoir fait ses armes chez JL Chave, Domaine de la Romanée Conti, Domaine Prieuréé-Roch. Il a en parallèle créé son propre domaine en 2011.


 

 Le domaine couvre à présent 18 hectares, essentiellement sur Fixin, mais aussi Gevrey Chambertin, Vosne Romanée et Flagey Echezeaux. La production uniquement en vins d’Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée est à 90% rouge.

 

   Les vignes sont cultivées dans le respect de l’environnement, à tendance bio. Les vins sont vinifiés et élevés de manière non-interventionniste.

"Bien faire vaut mieux que dire " 1693 - Inscrit sur le linteau de la porte au 9 Rue Noisot

IMG_1976.JPG